I just started playing on a new to me banjo. It’s an 11” Vega Old Tyme Wonder with a frosted head, a 5/8” J. W. Hooks bridge, and La Bella 17 strings.

I have two questions that I am hoping some of you may be able to address.

First, are most people really playing with an action around 1/4” at the 12th fret? With some relief in my neck, I am currently just under 1/8”. I have another slightly higher bridge from Joel on the way, so that I can get a little bit closer to a 1/4”. That being said, in my mind, 1/4” seems ridiculously high!

Second, When I play, I am getting a strange phasing sound from the banjo. Has anyone else ever experienced this? It sounds like the banjo is going through a phaser pedal for a guitar.

Thanks in advance!

Views: 1151

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Sorry, it isn’t an Old Tyme Wonder. It is a Little Wonder. I keep screwing that up!

High action with nylon strings is usually not a problem. Especially with the small diameter strings in the LaBella 17 set it should be comfortable.  It looks to me like you've got a Deering Vega rather than a "Vega Vega". If it has coordinator rods rather than a wooden dowel, you've got the Deering. No problem.  Just different. 

Is there a way we can hear a recording of this Phasing Sound?  My best guess, without actually hearing the sound, is either a slack head , or some small item lodged between the head and one of the feet of the bridge, or most likely, from a conflict of overtones due to strings that are not quite in tune.  But I may be imagining a sound that is different from what you are hearing.

Hi Jody,

You are correct. It is a new Deering made Vega Little Wonder.

I’ll see what I can do about a recording tomorrow.

The head is fairly tight and uniform all the way around. I think it came out to about a 91 on a Drum Dial (if that means anything to you).